Cafe Saigon 1975

I’m staying in an AirBnB serviced apartment this time in Saigon, rather than a hotel. It is in a neighborhood (D3) just outside of District 1, the business center. My place is down a dead end alley, very quiet. What is stellar about this alley is Cafe Saigon 1975, a three storey ca phe that is obviously a well-kept locals’ secret. The place not only serves up a delicious ca phe sua da (iced Vietnamese coffee with condensed milk), it is a visual feast. Themed on the last year of the Republic of Viet Nam (South VN) before Ho Chi Minh won the war, one of the most remarkable things about it is the fact that the owners hang the old South Viet Nam flag outside. This flies in the face of all things Hanoi-communism and immediately establishes this place as something special. Once you enter, the cafe is chock-full of another era. I have quickly grown to love it and decided to photograph it extensively. I hope that you enjoy the photos as much as I enjoy the experience. Cheers!

CafeSaigon1

CafeSai2

CafeSai3

CafeSai4

CafeSai5

CafeSai6

CafeSai7

CafeSai8

CafeSai9

CafeSai10

CafeSai11

CafeSai12

CafeSai13

CafeSai14

CafeSai15

CafeSai16

CafeSai17

CafeSai18

CafeSai19

CafeSai20

CafeSai21

CafeSai22

CafeSai23

CafeSai24

CafeSai25

CafeSai26

CafeSai27

\CafeSai28

Another Birthday In Saigon

#61 happened here again, without much planning. I had a nice dinner in District 7 at my friend Kim Ha’s house, Vietnamese home cooking. The highlight was the tiramisu cake, pictured below with the pastry butcher ready to exact his revenge on the beautiful painting on top. Merci to all of Kim’s family for treating me to a nice BD in my new home away from USA!

61BD1

61BD2

 

61BD3

 

 

 

61BD4